Falling slowly


Autumn… the year’s last, loveliest smile. – William Cullen Bryant

This time of year always brings a quiet nostalgia. It is a season of silent changes and a subtle build of anticipation. We’re nearing the end of the year, and it is always a strange sensation of attempting to slow time while looking forward to what may come.

This is my favorite time of year. I say it every October. You should all know by now. It’s bitter sweet at times as this was the month my grandpa passed away. However, autumn was his favorite season, so it’s only fitting he breathed his last while the earth around him did the same. There is a comfort in knowing I get to enjoy the very scenery he did.

Oak07.jpg

A week ago Sister Silent and I went on our somewhat traditional Oregon Coast trip. Our original plans were foiled by what was supposed to be a “historic” storm along the western coastline. We left a day after the storm passed, and thanks to my pleading were allowed to move our lodging dates without losing our precious monies. This was our first time vacationing at the ocean during the fall, and it was awesomely colorful. The scenery helped make the long drive a little more tolerable.

There is never a boring trip when two or more of my immediate family is involved. For the sake of Sister Silent I will not write on all of our blunders, but I will post a few pictures to prove we made a successful trip to the beach without being swept away by a hurricane.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We have the sight-sees we have to visit at every trip. This stems back to our family vacation days, we missed out on the Yaquina lighthouse this year but did pop into the Devil’s Punch Bowl and Cape Foulweather.

img_1725
Devil’s Punch Bowl was a little angry that day.

 

img_1730img_1732

img_1734

Sister Silent let out a scream when she almost stepped on this furry guy. She called it a sea-slug. Apparently wildlife on the Oregon coast is very specific to the region – sea-deer, sea-cow, sea-sheep. Who knew?

Also made friends with this guy:

img_1745

I am trying to not take these simple trips with Sister Silent for granted, because as life move forwards I know eventually the opportunity for them will dwindle. Life has a funny way of becoming increasingly more busy.

I have some exciting news to share, I am so ecstatic I can’t even control myself. Sister Fierce has finally reached the point in this incredibly long pregnancy to reveal Little Al’s gender. And…

Image result for pink balloon on white background

After two crazy, sweet, sometimes stinky, and rambunctious nephews, I will be getting a crazy, sweet, sometimes stinky, and probably rambunctious niece.

I have two online carts already full of clothes. No shame. Little Al is going to be one spoiled little girl.

My pledge of slowing down and enjoying each day has been a little easier with the change of the seasons. Maybe that’s partially why I enjoy fall, it brings a mellowness that seems to calm everyone despite our busy schedules. And my schedule has been more busy than ever lately. Even as I sit here now battling the Monday morning blues, I have to remind myself to not wish my life away by speeding through these long weeks.

Besides the Autumn poets sing
A few prosaic days
A little this side of the snow
And that side of the Haze…
Grant me, Oh Lord, a sunny mind—
Thy windy will to bear!
~Emily Dickinson

Happy Autumn All!

 

Spill Your Thoughts

