Some ramblings


We have less than a month to the first day of autumn, and I am trying to hold back my giddy squeals in honor of my promise to enjoy the rest of summer. There are giddy squeals galore on the inside though, and a little bit of foot stomping as my weather app is showing the temps dipping down to the lower seventies next week.

I have had some fun the last few weeks despite the hot weather. We took Sister Silent on one of her first real hikes up to Van Patten  Lake.

dad

This picture of Mr. Green was actually taken on one of our trips up there last year, but I just really like it, so deal.

In defense of my hair issues it spent the best part of that hike in a ponytail, and right as I let it down Crazy Lady decided she wanted pictures.

Perfect.

My hair can never win in this life.

This hike is about a total of 5 1/2 miles, and that includes the trail around the lake. So, not bad. Sister Silent would smack me right about now, as I should probably mention the first two miles is all uphill, with sections that are just waiting to give your rear a screaming workout. I thoroughly enjoyed it, Sister Silent tolerated it. I think she could be convinced to go again… or dragged.

We rewarded ourselves with pizza/burgers/drinks at Starbottle Saloon. It was pretty much one of the best days of the summer.

The Neph and I made a night of it last week and went to see Pete’s Dragon. It was great, my mascara ran a half dozen times, a sign of a good film. The Neph ate about six mini KitKat bars, half a box of Sno-Caps, and the majority of our popcorn. So his night was fantastic.


I have not seen the original so I can’t do a comparison for you, but I mean, Robert Redford guys, you can’t go wrong with Redford.

I haven’t announced two major events coming up in my family:

  1. Brother Serious is in a wedding two weekends from now… as the groom. He will be tying the knot to his lovely fiance Miss Rider (soon-to-be Sister Rider). She loves Brother Serious, seriousness and all.
  2. Sister Fierce will be giving me another baby to love on. Little Al will be arriving in March, just in time to give me baby snuggles for my birthday.

And I’m over here worrying over which novel I should start next. We all have our strong suits.

Speaking of books, and yes I will take any opportunity I can to talk about books, I have discovered my bad habit of reading more than one book at a time has gotten worse. It really is incredible that I finish books at all.

These are the ones I have to finish reading before I am allowed to move on to others:

 

I set rules for myself, or I get out of hand. Does anyone else do this?! Please don’t tell me I’m the only ADD reader out there. I think sometimes I like to escape to other worlds a little too much. I also think I have way too much confidence in my reading capabilities. I always overshoot. This is why I never played basketball… yeah, sure Katelyn, that’s why you didn’t play basketball…

Well folks that is all I have for you now. Just a little rambling post to relieve you from my more “serious” posts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spill Your Thoughts

