100 posts old


My little blog is growing up so fast. This is my 100th post on ‘sohewhistled.’ I am in shock I have written that many. This may be one of the few things I have committed to that has lasted longer than a year. If I had no readers I would have scrapped this sucker a while ago, pretended I never gave it a shot. But I do have readers, all you wonderful faces I can’t see that stop by and read my spew. And don’t think I haven’t taken notice the views from you, my German friends, some days you have almost beat out the USA. Danke!

Initially I wanted to make a list of 100 things I am thankful for. But then I realized how long and boring that would be for all of us, so that was thrown out prit-tee quick after I jotted down the first three:

1. Still breathing

2. Only had one spider in my apartment the past 12 mos.

3. New Girl was signed on for another season

Instead, I’m going to introduce you to my great-grandmother Jennie Georgia. She was five months away from turning 100 years old before she passed on to Heaven last Spring. She was one of my favorites, and the very best Grandma.

531361_3074013451176_1828565843_n

Grandma Jennie’s family came from Czechoslovakia. She never told us much about her parent’s emigration process. My guess is they were tired of the political turmoil and took off for something different. Perhaps the call of freedom appealed to them. They left far before the communist takeover in 1948 but I have to wonder if they saw what was on the horizon. Whatever their reason I am glad they chose to do so, and I am sure you are too, because I would not be breathing right now otherwise.

Jennie Georgia was born on September 9, 1912 in Ruby, Washington. I have never been there, because now there is nothing left but a big wooden sign erected to remember the once booming mining town. You can find Ruby on lots of ‘Real Ghost Towns’ searches.

Vacation '09 048

 I have no idea what my great-great grandfather did for work, whether he mined or was an employee at one of the businesses they had there. Either way they ended up moving to Kennewick, WA to farm when Jennie was three. She graduated high school in 1930 and went on to get her teaching certificate at what is now known as Eastern Washington University. She then took off to teach in some rural school districts (which I was told were one-room school houses), and met my strapping great-grandpa Carl in 1934, tying the knot not long after. You can read a more elaborated blog post on him here.

grandpa-carl

He was the school bus driver at the time. He soon got a job for the Northern Pacific Railroad (his dad and brothers worked there also) and they moved to another place in Washington I have never been to, Kahlotus. After a stint there they moved to an itty bitty town called Athena, in 1942 and that is where they stayed. Athena is still around now (no ghost town) and still itty bitty. I will always remember the little white house with the deep backyard. It would make me sad to visit it now, I think, to see it filled with another’s things, to not have it smell like Grandma Jennie’s perfume.

Jennie Georgia, was a tough woman. She had three children, two sons and a daughter, (the first son died shortly after he was born, Carl Dean; very sad), and  on top of raising a family and keeping house, she kept teaching for another 34 years. I remember at her 90th birthday party there were many, many students that came to say hello and walk down memory lane. She had a way of making herself be remembered.

She gardened, sewed, quilted, taught piano, went camping and fishing, baked, cooked, canned, cleaned, went to church, but above all else she always made time for family.

When I was little she would set us on her lap and sing us a little song about horse riding, each phrase was about a different group (ladies, gentleman, then cowboys) and she would move her legs faster and faster until our little baby bottoms were bouncing up and down.

Sister Fierce and I with Grandma Jennie
Sister Fierce and I with Grandma Jennie
That horse game was hard work...
That horse game was hard work…

She had a candy dish on her breakfast buffet that was always filled with a few different hard candies and Hershey kisses. It was the first thing we went to when we would come over. She kept puzzles and toys for us to play with, and let us wander around the house and yard as if we owned it. I loved going through her things, her bedroom was filled with treasures, an old gold vanity set, hand mirror, hair brush, etc. Her bathroom had old perfume bottles, little bars of soap, Band Aid tins, and a small paper cup dispenser. She had a china hutch filled with collectables. Old hardback books that smelled like aged paper when you opened the bookcase. There was something about being in her home that made you feel important, like you belonged there, one of the last stitches in her quilt.

Grandma Jennie paid for my piano lessons for several years, and when we would visit her she would have me go straight to her piano and play the latest song I had learned.  She was, and still is, the only one who ever asked for me to play a song. She would praise me for a job well done, and remind me how much I would appreciate being able to play when I was older.

She is still very much a part of our lives, coming up in conversation often, her recipe for Czech potato salad being passed around, the quilt she made me for my first Christmas sits next to my bed, her perfect handwritten message still in one of the squares:

Blotted out my last name, I'm not so good at editing...
Blotted out my last name, I’m not so good at editing…

She lost Grandpa Carl and lived without him for many years, carrying on with her life, taking care of their home, traveling with her daughter when she could convince Grandma to go. We would visit Grandma and she would have paper grocery bags full of canned goods, cookies, and whatever else she could find to send us home with. She was always cleaning out her closet and letting us choose from the pieces she no longer wanted or were too big for her (she was always a thin woman). One time she had a dress that she thought would be perfect for Sister Fierce or I to wear “to the country barn dances.” And that is one reason why we loved her so much, she transcended time… and she taught us never to waste anything we owned.

The other day I was needing to repair a rip in my sweater and so I went searching for blue thread and a needle, she left me her sewing box with everything still tucked inside from when she last used it. I spent a good 20 minutes rifling through the pockets, and compartments, running my fingers through her bundles of  thread, looking at her thimbles, going through her packs of needles. There is something about using the same sewing scissors that she did for years and years that makes me feel like she is close.

Jennie Georgia was a “whistler” in life much like my Grandpa Oran, she is on the list of people who have influenced and inspired me to keep moving through life despite the days where I would rather hide from the world. Jennie made her own music when there was none to be found.

Winklers group shot edited
Grandpa Carl and Grandma Jennie with their first batch of great-grandkids

Thanks for reading my 100th post folks!

Grandpa Carl edited

11 thoughts on “100 posts old

  1. Oh Kate…I loved this post. The picture got me…but the story was so much like MY grandma Genny….she lived to 98….went to “Secondary School” to become a teacher, and the bowl of candy on her table always had those little licorice bites…the kind that looked like a sandwich with white, pink and black strips….Oh how I loved Grandma Genny’s candy bowl….Thank you so much for bringing back some wonderful memories for me! Love you! Susie

    1. I totally know the candy you are talking about! Thank you for reading this, how neat that our grandmas shared a name – I like the way she spelled Genny too, I haven’t seen it like that before!

  2. Loved it Katelyn. Your love for your grandma reminded me so much of my love for my grandma. I hope my grandma lives to be that old too, cuz that means I’d have another 15 years with her 🙂

    Keep up the always great work!!!

  3. I really loved the part where you described how you and your siblings felt whenever you visited your grandma’s home. I felt that same way about my grandma’s house before she got cancer and had to move out (passed away years ago). My favorite thing about going to her house was that she was so full of spunk and life. She would play this hide-and-go-seek chasing game with my brothers and I and she would scare the “poop” out of me whenever I walked into a room she was hiding in and she’d jump out hooting and hollering, and then chase me down the hall until I’d turn around and see that she had hid again hahaha….reading this post has made me reminisce about some awesome times with my grammy….thanks!

    1. Awww, what a fun lady! I bet she probably had more fun than you guys did playing, especially when she got to scare you haha. I’m glad you liked the post, thanks for reading it! I hope all is well with you guys!

  4. Can you believe that you reminded me of my grandma, too? Long time ago … she died more than fifty years ago…but I still also remember HER candy dish filled with non pariels, sp?, little chocolate drops topped with lots of tiny white “balls,” for lack of a better word. I can still remember the smell of her house as well as see her bustling about it. I also remember holding her aged hand, closely examining the ridges in her nails and the skin on the back of her fingers that would remain standing after a gentle pinch, much like mine does today. One more thing to remember are the rectangular quarts of ice cream that had little designs in the center that would show when she sliced the little servings crosswise – Christmas trees, Valentines or Shamrocks. This ice cream was reserved for special occasions, and to be recognized by Grandma with her special ice cream was an honor, indeed.

    1. I love that Toni! What a great description of her, it must be something that happens when you have grandkids is getting a candy dish! I have never seen ice cream like that, I wonder if they still make it…

      1. I haven’t seen it for a long time, but if I ever find it again I’ll pick up a quart and come to your house so we can split it. Can you imagine my two grandparents, my dad, my mom, my sister and I all being satisfied sharing one quart of ice cream, and maybe a couple of 50-cent-piece-sized cookies? My, how tines change.

Spill Your Thoughts

