My thoughts on gun control


I have decided that the day after Christmas should be a holiday as well. Who wants to work right after Christmas? It should be a day of recuperating and spending that extra time with family and friends before everyone heads back out of town. Instead I dragged myself out of bed and went into the office for my eight hours. I literally did have to drag myself, because for some odd reason I woke up at 3:30 a.m. all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. So I was sleep-deprived, practically a zombie the entire day.

I thought this was funny:

holiday-work-bonus-money-christmas-season-ecards-someecards

Anyway, I am not going to blog about my Christmas day, even though it was great, instead I am pulling from the posts I have not yet published. Here is this one.

Gun control.

(Oh dear, what is she going to say?) Such a controversial subject, isn’t it?

People are just going haywire all over our country on this topic. Rightfully so, of course, as we are in the wake of one of the worst crimes ever committed, of which I am personally still reeling from, and every time pictures are flashed across the news my heart breaks all over again. After reading article upon article I felt I should take some kind of official stance on the matter.

So, I do believe placing more restrictions can be beneficial. I completely agree that when purchasing a gun one needs to undergo some type of psych evaluation. I do not think it makes much sense to allow firearms to be purchased so readily. For a piece of machinery that causes so much damage, lethal damage, I would hope we make sure that those who are in possession of them are of sound mind.  However, with that said, I also believe that those whose intent is on murdering others will acquire a gun, or some other type of weapon, by whatever means is legal or illegal. There have been gruesome killings done by kitchen knives, rope, hammers, and even frying pans. If a person is that set on causing harm or assault they will turn anything into a weapon.

Some extremists say we should demolish all firearms.

My reaction: Violence is not created by a physical object.

I grew up around guns because the men in my family are hunters. I have never shot a gun though, other than one that holds BBs. I never desired to learn how to use one until about four months ago, and even then I’m not quite sure what spurred that on. I was never fearful of having guns around, because I had confidence in those who were handling them. They were never something that were flashed and shown off or treated as a toy, instead I was raised knowing that a gun was something you used with caution and never abused.

Somehow people have grown desensitized to violence, to taking another human life. They justify it in their mind, reason it out, shut off any kind of humane part that screams in opposition. It is the only way to explain how one can kill another. Mentally they are disturbed. Taking guns away is not going to change any of that.

Violence is created in the mind.

Not that constant media exposure of violent acts, video games, gory movies and TV shows, nasty song lyrics and a lack of proper funding for mental health care, hasn’t contributed to the rise in violent activities we have witnessed. A person’s environment often plays a leading role in how they react to emotions such as anger, anxiety, depression, or guilt. It’s a heroic story for those who make it out of dark situations, heroic because it is so rare to break the mold it seems. Sadly we all know how many abused children grow up to be abusers themselves.

Sometimes a healthy environment can still produce an unhealthy egg. Which is when we need to be more aware of those around us. I hate to say we shouldn’t trust our neighbor, but the lesson of not taking candy from strangers was created for a reason. We also need more opportunities for those who do need help, without it costing them an arm, a leg, and their reputation. Funding, funding, funding, lets put money where it needs to go.

I was talking with a friend about this on Christmas Eve and he said, “It always comes back to less guns versus more guns.” Indeed it truly does. I do not think the solution is to arm every teacher, every nurse, every doctor, every employee everywhere. That is the other extremist view. Some of the things I see being posted and ‘shared’ on Facebook are so ridiculous that it cannot come from sane, logical thinking. It comes from a place of irate anger and fear. Two things that trigger assaults to begin with. This is not a situation that we can fix quickly, it is not something to end with a handful of laws. This violence is an epidemic, it’s a plague, and one that does not have a single cure that repairs all.

Violence is something that is displayed physically but that cannot be fought physically. It is something more people need to recognize as a battle that is taking place more in the spiritual realm. Violence is evil, completely void of love, it wraps itself around someone and entraps them, consumes them, pushes them to commit the most sinister of acts.

What makes me even more nervous is all the hate that is rising up against the United States, the place we call home. What are we supposed to do with a country full of people who hate it, who are so willing to abandon ship? How do we solve anything if we just give up on each other? I am not entirely sure what the answer is, what might work and what might flop. What I do know is that people reacting out of a place of pure emotion is not going to help anyone, we need to calmly take a step back and view it from all angles before jumping into the thick of things. Rash decisions are hardly ever good ones. I know that one from experience.

There it is readers, my stance on the dreaded issue of gun control. It is much like everything else in politics something I seem to align in the middle on. I was not cut out to be an extremist it seems.

8 thoughts on “My thoughts on gun control

  1. I enjoyed reading and thinking about what you’ve said. I think taking a middle path is usually the wiser route. Alternatively to your view, I believe violence is not just in the mind but more generally in the genes, a heritage of our biology. Humans, despite the conceit of thinking they aren’t, are mammalian animals. All mammals respond violently under certain stress conditions. One of the characteristics of our particular species is talent at tool-making. So we are really good at producing technology for any purpose, including killing, and somewhat less adept at inventing systems (like law) to restrict and regulate the expression of our innate talents.

    Part of the process of evolution is resistance to change on the part of some individuals, while others actively seek adaptation. Those who adapt tend to survive in greater numbers. The adaptation required in this instance is recognizing that we do not need to hunt food with guns any more, and that even having so many around (for “sport”, “protection” etc.) increases the danger of unintended fatal consequences for the entire group. We need to recognize that laws like the Second Amendment can’t really be designed to apply in perpetuity, because the killing technology is so far advanced from what it was when the law was written.

  2. I like it a lot, especially the phrase “Violence isn’t created by a physical object.” Killers will kill, no matter the law. After all, it’s already illegal to kill anybody, yet…

  3. Why does such a minority (The NRA) have so much control over the majority ( The USA Pubic). I’ve alway considered the neighbours to the south,a very understanding and compationate people. How do they get sucked into the infulence of a organization who controls people with fear and power. Where do they get off thinking that u need high powered, machine guns to go turkey shooting?

    1. Thanks for your comment Colleen!
      I am sure it seems that the NRA controls the citizens of the US from an outside perspective, especially since they seem to be the organization that helps to spear head most of the protesting for the “pro” side of gun ownership. I certainly hope that isn’t the case however. One of the biggest worries I have is that our government will stop listening to the people.

      I can understand both sides of the gun control argument. What I try to ask is if we were to ban certain types of guns then should we not have to take into consideration bows and arrows, knives, axes, chainsaws, etc., as well? And if that is the case then where do we stop? On the other hand I too do not understand why someone would need a a high powered, machine gun to kill turkeys. I can speak only as an Eastern Oregonian, but I know those who do own assault rifles don’t obtain them in the purpose of hunting with them.

      It will be rather interesting to see what happens.

Spill Your Thoughts

