The time is here


I have this bad habit of baking.

I just like to do it, and I can’t stop.

I end up pawning all the goods off on Crazy Lady, hoping if I leave them in her kitchen they will disappear… with some appreciation. Now that Fall has hit this bad habit has only gotten worse. In just the past month I have baked:

  • Six loaves of zucchini bread
  • Two dozen chocolate chip zucchini jumbo muffins
  • Two dozen pumpkin spice cookies
  • One large pear crumble pie (I make my crust!)
  • Two dozen pumpkin, chocolate chip cookies
  • Approx. six dozen no-bake vanilla cookies

And that is me with things under control.

I thought briefly about starting a second blog where I attempted to make Pinterest’s most pinned desserts… but then I quickly changed my mind when I realized how much money I would have to spend.

And I didn’t want to make my friends and family fat.

I’m sure that once I’m married and have kids (several years down the road) I won’t bake at all. So really I should just do it as much as possible now. Right?

Sister Fierce calls me a hypocrite because several years ago she was baking up a storm and I regretfully uttered the words, “You’re ridiculous for baking so much food we aren’t going to eat.”

Crap.

Now Brother Godwin is looking at me to provide him desserts as his fierce wife doesn’t have time to bake these days and I apparently do…

But it’s Fall!! Oh Fall how I’ve missed you so! This is my favorite season of the year! I’m going to use exclamation marks whenever I speak of it!

The leaves are changing, the air is getting crisp, my apartment smells like spices and such things, and I’m going to be breaking out the scarves soon!

It’s interesting because I have never been much of a holiday person, there’s always so much hype and stress circling them that it makes me anxious. But I love the time before and in-between the holidays. There’s that anticipation I feel comes from everyone waiting for their surroundings to begin changing. I feel sorry for those people who live in places where that doesn’t happen. Palm trees probably don’t change much. I’m not sure what I would do without the turning leaves and snowfall, lose track of time?

Anyway if I can pass along anything to you it’s that vanilla no-bake cookie recipe, seriously it’s like heaven in your mouth. The fam ate them up in a matter of a day. Ridiculous. Enjoy!

Vanilla Oatmeal No Bake Cookies

2 c. sugar

3/4 c. butter

2/3 c. milk

1 (3.4 oz.) box instant vanilla flavor pudding mix

3 1/2 c. quick cooking oats

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

In a large pan, mix together the sugar, butter and the milk. Bring to a boil. Boil 2 minutes. Turn off the heat, add in the pudding mix, oats and vanilla. Let stand 5 minutes. Drop by tablespoon onto wax paper and let cool. Store in an airtight container.

2 thoughts on “The time is here

  1. I made some pumpkin bread last night.. And I’m gonna have to make something else with pumpkin in it because I still have half of my huge can of pumpkin left. (I am having a really hard time typing pumpkin for some reason.) Anyways, I also wanted to just comment and say that I have already broken into scarves. Like, 2 weeks ago. I’m glad you are just as excited about fall as I am… And I may just have to use your no bake cookie recipe. Thanks for that. Yay for fall!
    (And I commented on here because everyone always comments on the facebook feed.. So I just wanted to show your blog some love)

    1. I wonder what that recipe would taste like if you added a few tablespoons of pumpkin to it…

      Thank you for leaving me a comment on here, it makes me all happy when I see that someone does! Haha!

      Oh and p.s. Send me the pumpkin bread recipe you used!

Spill Your Thoughts

