Being still.


“Be still and know that I am God.”

(Click these words RIGHT NOW to hear some super-awesome music.)

I have looked at that scripture for the last two years in a completely different light than I ever had before. I should call it my post-“waking-up time.” That’s literally how I felt, no over-dramatization this time, that God fully woke me up.

Until that point I was probably a lot like how The Neph was when trying to get him out of bed. It just didn’t happen… unless you were prepared with a crowbar and bribes. Sister Fierce always called him “a bear.” He would grumble and moan while we would drag him into the bathtub, watching him to make sure he didn’t fall asleep in the water. We would force feed him some breakfast and slip on clothes, and a “diapie,” while he laid there limp, any movement was just too much to handle for him. He would throw ridiculous tantrums, crying out delirious things that would make us laugh because they made absolutely no sense. Good times…

I guess I can be a bit of “a bear” with God.

I recently found myself running to this scripture again. It’s Psalm 46:10, if you were wondering.

I would love to just go limp and have someone else do everything for me. But I don’t believe that is the kind of “still” God is talking about here…

No, unfortunately “being still” pertains to your spirit and not the physical. You have to continue on with your life, dealing with what God has placed in front of you for this week, this day, this hour, but you try to reach a stillness in your soul while doing so. To do that there is a level of trust that has to emerge.  Situations still arise, confrontations still happen, daily chores are always there, and people don’t just disappear.

Blah!

That’s really how I feel sometimes. “No, I don’t want to do it right now.” … or ever, really… (“It” being life of course.)

Like we really have a choice, huh? We’re told to take one day at a time. Actually, I just said those exact words to a friend the other day at lunch, “Just take one day at a time, right?” We say such things to try to comfort, somehow it’s meant to relieve some stress, but really it doesn’t change anything, does it?

It is easy to be still when life isn’t too rough, the real challenge happens when you’re in the midst of harsh circumstances: having someone pass away, losing a job, facing cancer, etc. When that happens we all turn into bears. And rightfully so, those are not easy hand outs.

But when you know God, really know Him, then you can face absolutely anything. Does the trembling go away? No, not always. Do you still feel like hiding? Yes, every morning. Somehow though you make it through each day. They may be blurry, stained with tears, ripped with cries, or just gray and stagnant from numbness, but slowly you do make it through.

Then one day you wake up.

You can breathe a little easier, you feel a little stronger, you actually laugh a true laugh.

I wish I had the answers to why we have to face such challenges. I have no idea how many times I have questioned God about the pain I witness in this world. It doesn’t seem fair, or right, or just. What I hear in my heart is, “Be still and know that I am God.”I know He is fair, He is right, and He is just.

God is our refuge and strength,
always ready to help in times of trouble.
So we will not fear when earthquakes come
and the mountains crumble into the sea.
Let the oceans roar and foam.
Let the mountains tremble as the waters surge!

He causes wars to end throughout the earth.
He breaks the bow and snaps the spear;
he burns the shields with fire.

10 “Be still, and know that I am God!
I will be honored by every nation.
I will be honored throughout the world.”

11 The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us;
the God of Israel is our fortress.

2 thoughts on “Being still.

Spill Your Thoughts

