Addiction problem… anyone?


I developed, rather quickly, a caffeine headache today. This is only my second day without having my dose of coffee in the morning. Caffeine headaches are terrible. They expose my weakness and dependence on these delectable beans. They make me want to curl up in a dark, cool corner, wrench my eyes out of their sockets, and cower from any noise. That isn’t even the dramatic reaction.

Why am I in suffering? Because I chose to do a three-day cleanse and cutting caffeine was a necessary part of it.

It is somewhat sad how much we are habitual creatures. Making my coffee in the morning is the second thing I do after waking up, the first being to shower. I pride myself on good hygiene… I also pride myself on making a good pot of joe. It is so easy to slip into a pattern. Do you drive the same route to work? Put your pants on with the right leg first? Sit in the same spot at the dinner table? Maybe it’s a comfort deal, to do the same thing the same way every time. Or maybe we are all just lazy. Either way not making coffee in the morning has thrown my routine off.

This morning I was sitting in church thinking the above while listening to some pretty incredible words being shared by some guest speakers from the Bethel School of Supernatural Ministry, in Redding, California. It dawned on me in my weak state of mind that I did not want to be habitual in my relationship with God. I also did not want to see the kind of withdrawals that occur when walking away from Him either. If a lack of coffee affected me like this, what would living without Him next to me be like?

If there is one thing I have learned since committing my life to God it is this: He is not boring. So why do I find myself making Him that way? God is the most exciting person I know, and He never does something the same way. It’s a lesson I didn’t think I’d be learning from this cleanse, but I’ll roll with it.

If you are anything like me you can get pretty tired of your daily routine, and fast. And you might feel stuck at times as well. How do you break something that seems impossible to change? My only answer is to ask God. That’s what I plan on doing. I also plan on praying fervently for some kind of deliverance from this addiction problem I have. I need some excitement, especially with this walk I’m taking with my Father up above. I know He will deliver. I also know He may deliver in a way I am not expecting. All the more to blog about!

P.S. This is a lifesaver! 

Spill Your Thoughts

