3:33


It is exactly 3:33 as I start to write this. It holds absolutely no significance for me, just an observation.

This might be a discombobulated post. Probably not, I’ve just wanted to use that word in a sentence lately and that was my shot.

Okay, here’s my actual post. I promise I do have a point in writing this… at least I’m hoping to find one along the way.

This Disney classic has played repeatedly in my house this last week:

And yes it is on Blu-ray! The Neph got it for his birthday (he turned four) and now knows all the lines and songs. He’s a genius, no big deal. There is a point in the movie when the old wise baboon Rafiki declares, “It is time.” This is one of The Neph’s favorite lines and it’s pretty funny to hear him say it so seriously, but after laughing I realized why we are so partial to these turning points in films… we want to be Simba. We want it to be our time. Why do I not have a baboon coming to my doorstep saying, “Follow old Rafiki, he knows the way!”?

You have to make it your time people. I’m speaking to my 300+ readers out there, whoever you are. Apparently you find whatever I write to be somewhat worthwhile so I’m taking the time to be your Rafiki today and tell you it is your time. I will even do a dance if it means getting you to take a step towards what you dream of doing or becoming. Don’t be a Timon and Pumbaa and only settle for what’s in reach. However lovable they may be, there is no denying they are both lazy. You know where Simba went to find himself again? Home. He went back to his roots. Go back to yours. Think back to what made you the happiest, or what inspired you the most, what dream did you have for yourself? Go after it!

There is much to be taken from these movies, sometimes I drive myself crazy by not being able to just simply watch them without over-analyzing everything. I’m sure my family is probably rolling their eyes right now reading this post, or shaking their heads wondering why I can’t just leave The Lion King to be a simple story about a little lion cub. My brain prohibits me from leaving anything at simple. Don’t even get me started on the correlation between Mufasa (Simba’s dad) being God, and Simba representing us… think about it though… ahhh, there you go, it’s clicking now, eh?

One thing I have a hard time with is hearing someone tell me all the things they want to do in life, everything they hope to accomplish, but then they won’t break out of their day-to-day routine and try to make those things happen. Someone needs to deliver a swift kick to my rear if this ever is me. Seriously though my friends, start making some baby steps towards what you really desire to do in life. Listen to old Katelyn, she knows the way!

Speaking of kicks, I’ve been on an old blues kick here lately. Muddy Waters, Bill Withers, Arthur Crudup, Ike & Tina, Big Bill Broonzy. Yummy and raw music, never thought those two words would be used together now did you? I know blues can be somewhat of an acquired taste, but you just can’t go wrong with it. Listen to this and watch your feet start tapping: Mojo Workin! Oh if only I had been alive in the 40s… minus the discrimination against women it seems like it would have been some fun times.

Spill Your Thoughts

